MEET OUR INTERNATIONAL TEAM – ALDO

1. What is your home country? Are you currently living there or did you relocate?

I am from Mexico and I am currently based here after spending a few years in South America working on social projects. I plan to stay home for a while. 

2. Did you study in your country or did you choose another one? 

I did most of my college education in Mexico, but I took a semester abroad in Madrid, and then my internship took place in Ecuador, among some other international volunteering projects that I was a part of. 

3. What were your priorities when choosing a university?

At the time I was really focused on how important it was for me that the school offered an internationally-oriented program, as well as a diverse range of options for international exchange destinations. The institution’s facilities also played an important role.

4. If you could go back in time, would you have preferred other studies? Which?

I majored in International Relations, and I’ve realized how versatile this field of study is. I wouldn’t say I would study something different if I went back in time, yet I wouldn’t mind learning a bit more about Architecture or Psychology. 

5. Was it easy for you to adapt to a different country? 

Culture shock is always unavoidable. Yet, I found it interesting, because it’s all part of a process. It’s always good to get a bit lost in a new city to get to know it (always use GPS! Haha). 

6. Did you speak the language? Did you experience any issues with the language barrier?

I did speak the language, yet I had a lot of international friends from different parts of the world, and perhaps in the beginning one needs help in translation. Being outgoing and always keeping your phone within reach when necessary (a bit of Translator never hurt anyone) can really make a difference. 

7. How helpful has been your international experience when finding a job?

I can honestly say that, after my major, my international experience is the second most important thing on my resume. That, and learning languages are very important assets when it comes to looking for a job.

8. What advice would you give to future international students?

Take the leap. That’s it. Jump in and live the experience. Your perspective of the world will change, your circle of friends will be bigger, you’ll find new favorite food, and your life will change for the better. Of that I’m sure. 

Now, let’s get to know you a bit better!

What is your favorite book?

That’s a tough one. I would say “News from the Empire” by Fernando del Paso. 

What is your favorite music genre?

In a nutshell, rock. I’m a huge Beatles fan, but I listen to all genres, from Bad Bunny to Vivaldi. 

Who inspires you?

My parents.

What are your hobbies?

I love going to the movies. I try to do it at least once a week. I work out daily (or I try to),  I play the guitar every now and then, and I’ve recently been painting watercolors. 

What is the most exciting place you have visited?

Finishing with a tough question. I have to say, Machu Picchu in Peru. I’ve been there three times, and the last trip will forever be my favorite. The pandemic restrictions had just been lifted two days earlier, and there was no one there but me for the whole day. It was a surreal experience.