MEET OUR INTERNATIONAL TEAM – ALFONSO

1. What is your home country? Are you currently living there or did you relocate?

Mexico. No, I live in Valencia, Spain.

2. Did you study in your country or did you choose another one? 

Studied in Mexico, both bachelor and masters. Did an exchange program in Wisconsin USA, internships in Taipei, Taiwan, and specialization in Madrid, Spain. 

3. What were your priorities when choosing the university?

Being able to afford it. So I pretty much chose the one that gave me a scholarship.

4. If you could go back in time, would you have preferred other studies? Which?

Not really, I don’t regret anything since all my decisions have taken me to where I am now. However, I may still do architecture studies when I retire.

5. Was it easy for you to adapt to a different country?

Every situation has its ups and downs, but living abroad has always been an enjoyable and amusing experience with lots of knowledge gained.

6. Did you speak the language? Did you experience any issue with that?

I did. When living in the USA, England and Spain had no problems. When living in Taiwan and Japan I took Chinese and Japanese lessons. When living in Thailand I didn’t even bother 😀

7. How helpful has been your international experience when finding a job?

Extremely helpful. Actually, I could say that all the jobs I’ve gotten so far have been thanks to my previous international experience. 

8. What advice would you give to future international students?

Sit back and enjoy the ride!

9. What is your favorite book?

El Túnel from Ernesto Sabato, or any book from José Saramago.

10. What is your favorite music genre? 

Indie rock/pop, Jazz.

11. Who inspires you?

My dog Lola 🙂

12. What are your hobbies?

Being a tourist in the city I live, exploring new coffee shops and restaurants (I’m quite a foodie), and taking care of my plants.

13. What is the most exciting place you have visited?

Varanasi, India.