What is your home country? Are you currently living there or did you relocate?

I am from Italy. But I relocated to Valencia three years ago after eight years in London.

Did you study in your country or did you choose another one?

I studied my Bachelor’s degree at Università Cattolica in Milan and moved to London to pursue my Master’s degree at City University London.

What were your priorities when choosing the university?

I prioritized the university’s reputation and the availability of the course that aligned with my interests.

If you could go back in time, would you have preferred other studies? Which?

I pursued a degree in International Relations and Human Rights, a field I am deeply passionate about, and I wouldn’t change it. However, when deciding, I also had a strong interest in Medicine, so if I were to reconsider, that would be the alternative path.

Was it easy for you to adapt to a different country?

Of course, there is a period of initial adjustment when relocating to a new country, but it’s crucial to maintain an open and receptive attitude toward the new culture, embracing the opportunity to learn from it. I find it relatively easy to adapt, and I really enjoy incorporating the positive aspects of the new country into my lifestyle.

Did you speak the language?

In both cases, with English and Spanish, I spoke the language fluently, but I certainly expanded and enriched my vocabulary over time.

Did you experience any issues with that?

Not necessarily. Even if you make errors, languages are meant to be practiced — the more you speak, the more you improve. 🙂

How helpful has been your international experience when finding a job?

It’s undeniably beneficial, as it adds significant value to your overall experience. International exposure also imparts transferable skills that are hard to overlook.

What advice would you give to future international students?

Venture into the world, soak up knowledge like a sponge, ask, and engage in uncomfortable conversations — this is the most effective way to gain new perspectives.

What is your favorite book?

It’s a challenging question; it is impossible to have just one favorite book. However, among my recent favorites are the Blackwater Saga by Michael McDowell and Le Guerriere de Porcelaine by Mathias Malzieu.

What is your favorite music genre?

Hard to decide, but if I had to pick one, it would be classic rock!

Who inspires you?

My grannies. 🙂

What are your hobbies?

Mainly photography, books, and watercolour and embroidery art.

What is the most exciting place you have visited?

Patagonia without a doubt.